McRae Point Provincial Park
Box 2178
Orillia Ontario
Canada L3V 6S1
705-325-7290


Campground Descripton:  This small peninsula on Lake Simcoe is an ideal summer playground for swimming, boating and fishing. A drumlin on the south side is topped with hardwood forest and drains into swamp and wetlands. Explore the Water's Edge Trail and discover yellow-throated vireos and rattlesnake fern.

Campsite Reviews
Campsite 63  - Good Weekend Getaway
Rating:

Camp Date: 6/7/2012

I have to say that after reading some reviews for this campground, I was a little hesitant to make a booking here as this was the only park with spots available for the dates we wanted. However, once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the site had very little in the way of privacy but was counter-balanced with the size of the site. It was much bigger than previous sites we have stayed. The beach was excellent and even a doggie beach area where our lab could swim with the kids. The sunsets here are awesome and would definately stay again. One negative point though was that the area we stayed only had two showers (one male, one female) so high season there was a little wait time.
Reviewed by sjmartin on 7/26/2012
Campsite 63  - Great Weekend Getaway
Rating:

Camp Date: 6/7/2012

If have to say that after reading a few reviews, we were not sure whether to book this campground as there were only spots left available at this park. Once we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, the sites are not private but are made up for in terms of site area which were some of the larger I have seen. The beach was excellent and even a doggie area for our lab to swim with the kids. Sunsets here are swesome and would definately stay again
Reviewed by sjmartin on 7/26/2012
Campsite 63  - Good weekend getaway
Rating:

Camp Date: 6/7/2012

We stayed here for two nights (Friday and Saturday). We were a little unsure after reading a few negative reports about this site and I have to say that we really enjoyed our stay. Yes, the sites lack privacy but make up in terms of pitch area and the beach was excellent. Even an area for the dogs to swim also, we have a lab so spend most of the day there. Very nice and would stay again
Reviewed by New to camping on 7/26/2012
Campsite 1  - Great for Swimming
Rating:

Camp Date: 1/8/2003

This is a nice Park but it is quite open. Not very much play ground equipment. The beach is not big but a nice place for swimming. It was quite noisy on a long weekend but other times it was quiet.
Reviewed by Star2004 on 2/17/2004